Hummingbirds Love Lungwort

Hummingbirds don’t care if the lungwort (Pulmonaria) they visit are the specially bred varieties like ‘Benediction’, ‘Roy Davidson’, or ‘Excalibur’. If the flowers are blue, pink, or rose color, if the leaves are green, spotted or silver, it just doesn’t matter. I can imagine them chirping, “Just gimme some nectar!” I love to watch the hummers hovering low to the ground, flashing their brilliant red markings as they sip from the funnel-shaped flowers.

At one time I had a love-hate relationship with Pulmonaria. I was thrilled at how early they bloomed, but worried about how prolifically they seeded down in my wet garden. Lately, though, I celebrate them as one of the first sources of happy juice for the hummingbirds. And when I remember to cut Pulmonaria all the way down to the ground after they’ve flowered, they’ll send up fresh foliage and might even bloom again, if I’m lucky!

While fussier perennials have vanished, after especially cold or super wet winters, Pulmonaria soldiers on. Personally, I like the diversity of flower and foliage colors, but for the hummingbirds, even the original plainer ones are welcome and delicious.

pulmsmall

******************************************************************************************

For spring, there must be earliest daffodils and blue lungwort (Pulmonaria), yellow epimediums and orange avens (Geum).

Love Letters to My Garden

pulmbrite

******************************************************************************************

Barbara Blossom’s Coming Events

Thursday, April 13, 10 a.m.

Aloha Garden Club

Bethlehem Lutheran Church

18865 SW Johnson St, Beaverton, OR 97006

How Gardening Changed My Life

Author talk, reading and book signing

Saturday, April 22, 10:30 a.m.

How Gardening Changed My Life

For Hardy Plant Society of Oregon members only

You may join HPSO at the event or at the website, 

http://www.hardyplantsociety.org 

We welcome new members! 

Hardy Plant Society of Oregon office

4412 SW Barbur Blvd Suite 260, Portland, OR 97239

How Gardening Changed My Life.

Author talk, reading and book signing

Saturday, April 29, 11 a.m.

Jan’s Paperbacks

18095 SW TV Hwy, in the Aloha Villa Shopping Center

Favorite Easy Care Plants from My Garden

Author talk, reading and book signing

daff

Leave a Reply

