Rainy Day Pleasures

When the edges of my garden beds have standing water and the lawn is as soggy as a sponge, deadheading hellebores seems less urgent, even though it’s on my to-do list. Instead I go for breakfast with a dear friend whom I haven’t seen for weeks. Two hours later we emerge from the warm restaurant, pull up our hoods and sail into the rain, energized by the warmth of friendship.

It’s the perfect day to visit Jan’s Paperbacks where I have promised to deliver copies of my new book, Love Letters to My Garden, and meet the staff. Located in the Aloha Villa Shopping Center, right beside a game store and very close to Bobz Garden Center, it’s a perfect destination for a rainy day. Once inside I enjoy chatting with owner Debbie and assistant Jody, while noticing out of the corner of my eye that besides shelves and shelves of tempting books there are several racks of greeting cards. I love to collect cards to store in my desk so that I’ll be prepared for birthdays, anniversaries, and every other occasion that comes along. I’m thrilled to find New Yorker Cover cards and a whole box of New Yorker cat cartoon cards, at rock bottom prices!

Back home I see a sun break and rush outside to deadhead those hellebores. I fill a wheelbarrow nearly to the top with spent flowers before the wind kicks in and the sky opens up to another downpour. It’s an off and on day, better than continuous rain. And best of all, sun or shine, leaves continue to unfurl and flowers keep blooming. I swear I can see the young Parrotia and Chinese elm trees grow taller overnight.

anemplatt

Single blue and double white anemones bloom in harmony with bright pink trout lilies (Erythronium) in the Jane Kerr Platt Garden’s woodland walk.

*************************************************************************************

Please join me for a talk, a reading and a book signing, this Saturday, April 29, at 11 a.m.

Jan’s Paperbacks  (look for the Franz Bread Outlet sign)

18095 SW TV Hwy, in the Aloha Villa Shopping Center

Favorite Easy Care Plants from My Garden, with cuttings for show and tell

A talk, Q & A, reading and book signing

 

One thought on “Rainy Day Pleasures

  1. Was that breakfast this day? I know I’m one of many dear friends, and it was wonderful to spend time with you this morning. I’m so glad you are in my life!

    I hope the rest of your day was good. I came home to some phone calls and paperwork, then painted for a couple hours. All in all, a great day.

    Thank you, with love, Connie

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

